It’s the thought (and the alcohol content) that counts

Some husbands buy their wives flowers.  Not my husband.  He buys me liquor:

My husband told me this morning at the grocery store that he wanted to buy me a bottle of liquor of my choice for me to take on my upcoming Girls’ Trip in a couple weeks.  (Me: “Um…Why?”)  A few days ago, I was frustrated with him about something (very minor, actually, not even worth mentioning in this post), and he told me he was sorry and he would make it up to me.

And when he thought of me, he thought of alcohol.  So sweet, you guys.

I told him I had no idea what to choose.  He said he asked around at work and there were two main suggestions from his co-workers. (I love this about him.  He does his research!)  I picked the above bottle because it was the prettier of the two and the description sounds delicious.

Side note: we learned from the cashier at the grocery store that we could NOT, in fact, purchase liquor before 12:00 on Sundays.  We could purchase our beer at 9:00 a.m., no problem.  Just not liquor.  My response to the cashier: “Oh.  Um. That makes sense.  The Lord doesn’t want us doing shots in the morning today.  But we can tip back a few cold ones if we want to.”  Still baffled by this…but, anyway…I digress.

So…the hubby went back to the store after 12:00 on the Lord’s Day and brought me home my beautiful new bottle of liquor.

I sat it on the counter, admired it, and gushed, “Awwww…thanks!  This really means a lot to me.”

It got me thinking.  Flowers vs. Alcohol as a gift…which is better?

Flowers…

  • are a very sweet gesture
  • are pretty
  • smell good
  • may require water
  • die within 2 days at my house (it’s just a fact…they have NO chance)
My new bottle of liquor…
  • is pretty
  • smells good (yes, I opened it & smelled it)
  • will undoubtedly have a memorable effect on me (and possibly a few of my friends)
  • has fruit and vegetable products in it (specifically mango and passion fruit…and vodka comes from potatoes, I believe)
  • may require ibuprofen the next day

Soooo…yeah.  We have a winner!

And for those of you who are concerned that I drink too much…I know I might make it seem that way sometimes, but I can assure you, I drink the EXACT recommended amount for a mom of 2 boys.  More specifically, the exact recommended amount for a mom of MY two boys.  “Recommended by WHO?” you ask.  Well…ME.  Recommended by ME.

Now…when he REALLY messes up, I expect alcohol with a lovely side of Breyer’s waffle cone ice cream.  Then, I know he knows the way right to my heart.

5 thoughts on “It’s the thought (and the alcohol content) that counts

  1. ha! I love that stuff! I just bought my first bottle of it on Saturday. Funny name, but very cool bottle. I need to hide it before one of my high school bbsitters sees it. I could only imagine the texting going around about ‘Mrs. Stengel, the school counselor and girls bball coach likes KINKY!’……i better go hide that now….

    • Haha! Yes, that info would be on facebook before you know it. 🙂 Glad to hear it’s good – I still haven’t tried it. Saving it for my weekend away. Also, worried if I try a tiny taste at home, I won’t stop and then I’ll be on “Intervention.” 🙂

  2. “the exact recommended amount”…perfect! lol. Just yesterday it came up about how it used to be that you couldn’t buy hard liquor on a Sunday and we wondered if that was still the deal. Now I know! Thanks for the info 😉

Leave a Reply

