24 Hours of Freedom

I love being a mom.  I really really really really do.  Really.

Once you’re a mom, sometimes it’s hard to remember that time period before you had kids.  Everything is on the “Before Kids” (BK) or “After Kids” (AK) timeline for us.  Sometimes we say, “What did we DO?”

Well, BK, we pretty much did whatever we wanted with our time.  We slept in.  We watched TV. We went to movies.  We would run errands or go out of town or go out to eat or go to the bar without a care in the world.

I’m not saying we don’t still do those things, but it’s DIFFERENT once you have kids.  AK, I do sit down to watch TV after the boys are in bed, but I’m usually lucky if I stay awake for one show.  We average about two movies per year in the theater, we go out to eat only at places that have a kids’ menu, packing the car for one overnight stay out of town is an ordeal, and shopping…well, you’ll have to refer to my post about public outings to understand the scope of the fiasco that is shopping.

This weekend, my husband and I got a gift.  We don’t get it very often, but it does happen occasionally.

We got 24 hours of freedom.

My sister-in-law picked up the boys yesterday morning, took them to their Grandma’s house an hour away, and brought them back this morning.

It was glorious.

I could have cleaned the whole house.  I could have gone grocery shopping or to the mall.  I could have cried into my pillow because I missed my 2 sweet boys so, so much.

But I didn’t.

The first thing I did: I showered with my music blaring and my 3 year-old NOT pounding on the shower door.  I sang Adele’s Rollin’ in the Deep almost better than Adele herself. (Just let me have my moment.  Shower acoustics are fantastic.)

Then, my hubby and I met up with some of his work friends at our favorite bar for its annual Bockfest…basically, a celebration of German beer.  We were there for 6 hours.  We drank beer, ate German food, people-watched…it was great.  At one point, my husband pointed out several people that did bring their young children and said, “You know, we really could have brought the boys here.”  I just laughed.  No. Way.  This is our 24 hours.

When we got home, the house was so, so, soooooo quiet.  I’m not going to lie and say that I thought, “Awwww, it’s too quiet.  I miss the sounds of my boys!”  I didn’t think that at all, actually.  We watched TV.  We didn’t have to make sure anyone was fed.  We didn’t have to give anyone a bath or remind anyone to not get toothpaste on the wall.  We didn’t have to watch our language.  (Not that we’re swearing maniacs or anything…but doesn’t it feel good sometimes to drop those words like “jackass” and “dumb shit” every once in a while?  And, to clarify, we’re not calling EACH OTHER these things.  Just the jackasses and dumb shits we see on TV that we can’t watch when we have our kids.)

Unfortunately, I’m incapable of sleeping in.  However, I got up this morning, did laundry, watched my weaknesses (bad reality TV) that have been on my TiVo forever, drank my coffee…and was not interrupted even ONCE.  It was blissful.

Now…some of you might be thinking, “Oh, I just can’t stand being away from my children for a whole day!”…and that’s absolutely fine.  I honestly don’t know how you do it.  Personally, sometimes I need a little time away from my kids.  Just a short break.  When it happens, I feel like I’m able to be a better mom afterward.  I guess you could say I’m rejuvenated.

Was I happy to have my boys back?  Of course.  Since they’ve been back, Easton has had a minimum of 3 meltdowns, I accidentally hit Keegan in the head with the rake handle, Easton wouldn’t stop slamming doors shut, eventually slamming his finger in one (inevitable), wouldn’t eat supper (SHOCKING!), and wouldn’t let me go to the bathroom by myself all day.  Keegan was on the tired and crabby side (there is no “bed time” at Grandma’s), took a nap (which he hasn’t done in a few years), and came downstairs a little bit ago saying he “can’t sleep.”  We also found out that Keegan asked his Grandma if he is allowed to say naughty words at her house.

Ahhhhh…never a dull moment.  It’s great to have them back.

One thought on “24 Hours of Freedom

Leave a Reply

